Starting seeds? Now??

I’ll admit, I have never gardened before. Yes that’s right, never had a garden. Hell, I’ve never even had a plant (aside from a small bear-paw cactus that my brother adopted.) So, forgive me if I’m a little bit confused when on most of the blogs I read on gardening are talking about “Yay It’s February! Time to start my seeds for this year’s garden! I hope we get a better crop than last year!”.

I’m sorry, what?

There’s still at least a foot of snow on the ground (Okay, maybe like 4in across the street.) But regardless. The weatherman is still threatening snow for like, tomorrow, and it’s time to start the seeds??

I understand you won’t be putting them outside immediately and there’s hardening to be done and all that, but, shouldn’t you like, start the seeds maybe one month before? two even? but not like… 3-4…?  I mean, it would have to be that long before the ground would be warm enough for the plants here. At least that’s what my grandmother says and She seems to do just fine with her plants.

I mean, when I told my cousin we would try growing ‘big tomatoes’ this year (as opposed to cherry) she said “You’ll have to start that before you plant it or it won’t get nearly big enough to have good tomatoes.” But surely she didn’t mean to start them now.  That’s just kind of… bizarre to me. Though I admit I have zero experience, it doesn’t seem to make sense to me I guess… But

What do you think? Do plants grow slow enough that starting them now will be alright? Does the type of plant matter? 

Please help me out and leave a comment!

Categories: Garden | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Starting seeds? Now??

  1. I’m not much of a gardener but it takes awhile to grow plants fro seed. I could see starting now if you do so in planters inside. I don’t know where you live but I take it by your statements that its still cold. Then transfer them when they get big enough. How long that would take I have no clue.

    • Ah Thanks for the input! Hm, maybe. I talked to my grandmother about it and it turns out she doesn’t even start seeds, she just plants them from seed outside :T So I’ll have to talk to my cousin about timing though today spring doesn’t seem far off. (We actually had /rainstorm/ last night instead of snow!)

      Once I get a bit more information I’ll probably update this post with my plan of action (or include it in a future post. I dunno.)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

