What are you thankful for?

It always seems to me that thanksgiving tends to be a glossed over holiday. Now I don’t mean that it’s not a big deal, it is totally a big deal but it tends to become transformed into the day of the almighty turkey instead of what’ it’s supposed to be.

Thanksgiving

Thanks giving.

It seems like a lot of people have forgotten how to do that, and it makes me sad to say that especially a lot of folks in my age group it seems. Even when dealing with people day to day, a lot of folks seem almost bewildered when I thank them for doing whatever service it is they’re doing. I can’t speak about others or how they were raised but it seems to me like things are in a sad state when folks seem legitimately confused upon being thanked. Is everyone just to busy to be grateful?

It’s very very easy to focus on the things going wrong in one’s life, blame others, blame your uncontrollable circumstances, and so on. But there’s so much to be thankful for when you think about it.

Of course there’s always going to be folks with worse or better circumstances than you, I’m not saying that if you have an issue it’s illegitimate or anything like that. Yeah there’s the standards, you folks reading this can be thankful for having internet access whether it’s at home with a roof over your head or a public space of somekind. That’s something to be thankful for at least.

Everyone’s got problems but it’s important to step outside of our limited scope of what we don’t have, what we want or need, and to take a glance at everything we do have.

Right now I’m honestly grateful for all of the bad times too, I can be thankful for those as well because of the lessons I’ve learned and all my good and bad experiences have helped to formulate me into the person I am today. And while I may not be exactly happy with that, I’m thankful that I have the opportunities and ability to change them if I choose to, and that I have the ability to choose. I’m thankful that I live in an area that while it has a long way to go on the scale of accepting others, is not actively trying to eliminate me in any number of ways.

I’m thankful for my health, because as poor as it is I am alive and sometimes that’s enough to be happy about.

So on the actual day of thanksgiving my mom and sister woke up early, cleaning and cooking, and they left me in my passed out state on my bed. I had hardly been able to sleep at all from sheer pre-feast excitement haha, and I’m thankful that they did let me sleep xD. At about noon my brother and his girlfriend arrived and we ate heartily!

My mother roasted the turkey, made stuffing and gravy and mashed potatoes, candied yams, greenbean casserole, and corn pudding. Every year her recipes vary a little bit as she doesn’t write things down and can’t remember what she did the year before haha, but this was decidedly the best year ever. My family and I do have a lot of issues, and often times it feels like we’re very disconnected, but this holiday was different.

My mother says that God gave us a miracle and gave us our family back haha. It really does feel like that though, there was a feeling in our house of fun and peace and love that I haven’t felt with all of us in well over a decade.

And so for the first time that I can remember, I can honestly, earnestly say that I am thankful for my family.

 

I don’t know what happened or how, but this is certainly becoming one of my most cherished memories.

How was your thanksgiving? Any miracles on your end? What are you thankful for?
Comment below!

Categories: General | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

